Inspired Walk for Muscular Dystrophy participant joins planning committee

Ikdip Brar-Peel RegionMy older brother, Mandip Brar, was only 23 years old when he passed away from Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy over a year ago. He led his own team, Mandip’s Spirit Team, in the Walk for Muscular Dystrophy a few years ago. He said to me, “the least we can do is help raise money so a cure can be found for the younger ones with MD.” He had a big heart in hopes that a treatment or cure could be found for the younger generation with MD, regardless of whether or not a cure was found in his lifetime to save his life. He wanted to create a legacy as a leader – and my family and I have continued to make his legacy thrive by participating in the Walk for Muscular Dystrophy.

 Last year, our team raised over $6,200.00 and had over 20 team members that consisted of friends, family and local community members who participate in the Walk. I can genuinely say that this Walk brought the members of all the teams participating in the walk closer together – like a community- as we all bonded, shared stories, and enjoyed the awesome games and amazing prizes!  This year, I decided to join the committee for 2013 the Peel Region Walk for Muscular Dystrophy because I was inspired by the Walk I participated in last year. I want to not only continue the success the Walk for Muscular Dystrophy has had in the past, but to have a larger turn out from the community and raise even more money to support this great cause. So far being in this committee, I met wonderful people with diverse backgrounds. I have learned a lot and I look forward to learning a lot more!

To end off, I want to give you all a hint of what is in store for this year’s Walk – a lot more exciting activities and prizes for all ages to enjoy! I am looking forward to this Walk because I know it will be the best one yet!

Ikdip Brar

Leave a Reply

